About Us

Mission & Purpose

The Ray County Library’s mission and purpose are to inform, inspire, and enrich the community.

Our Values

The Ray County Library believes in and values:

  • Informative Service
  • Innovation
  • Collaboration
  • Diversity
  • Free and Open Access
  • Right to Privacy
  • Intellectual Freedom
  • Life Long Learning

Library Address: 215 E. Lexington St., Richmond, MO 64085
Phone: 816-776-5104

Fax Number: 816-776-5103

Email: rclibraryservices@gmail.com

Library Hours

Monday 9:00 am – 6:00 pm

Tuesday 9:00 am – 7:00 pm

Wednesday 9:00 am – 6:00 pm

Thursday 9:00 am – 6:00 pm

Friday 9:00 am – 5:30 pm

Saturday 9:00 am – 2:00 pm


The Ray County Library was established in 1946 with a one-mill tax.  Two years later the library officially began operating out of the County Surveyor’s office at the county courthouse.  Throughout the years, the library has resided in several locations.  One of the longest-serving library locations was the current County Public Administrator’s office at 219 S. College.  This location was constructed for the county library in 1954.  In 1994, the library began to integrate technology into its services with the addition of computers and an online card catalog.  Ten years later, the library was once again expanding and in need of a larger building.  In 2004, the library moved to its current location at 215 E. Lexington.  The building was a former C&R Grocery store that was remodeled to accommodate the library.  Since its inception, the library has provided Ray County citizens with a variety of services and programs to meet the information needs of the community.  Current library services include public computer access, Wi-Fi access, laptop and hotspot checkout, printing, copying, faxing, and library material borrowing.

Library Policies

Click here for the Ray County Library Policies.

Library Governance

Ray County Library is a public county library serving all residents of Ray County. 

Library Board of Trustees

  • President: Misti McKenzie
  • Secretary: Janet Aldrich
  • Treasurer: Sandy Burns
  • Member: Patty Lam
  • Member: Kellie Schutte

Click here for the Board of Trustees By-Laws.